Academic Human Resources (Faculty HR)

UW Tacoma is committed to fostering a community of educators who are dedicated to creating the best possible learning experience for our students. Achieving this goal requires employing quality faculty and motivated academic staff.

Academic HR News

- Click here for a 2/6/15 news item regarding compliance resources and policies for faculty and staff.

- UW is implementing a HR/Payroll Modernization Project. Click here to read more.

 - UW has an institutional membership with the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD), which provides online mentoring resources for faculty, post-docs, and graduate students. Resources include, for example, multi-week courses, guest speaker tele-workshops, peer discussion forums, and monthly writing challenges. Anyone who is interested may activate their account with a UW email address and begin using NCFDD immediately. Instructions on how to activate an account can be found here.

 - Click here to visit the NEW part-time lecturer website containing campus information and resources.


Congratulations to all the award winners recognized at the Spring Celebration! This year, faculty were recognized in the following categories:

Distinguished Teaching Award: Dr. Donald Chinn, Associate Professor, Institute of Technology

Distinguished Research Award: Dr. Yonn Dierwechter, Associate Professor, Urban Studies

Community Engagement Award: Dr. Jill Purdy, Associate Professor, Milgard School of Business and Joe Lawless, Executive Director, Center for Leadership and Social Responsibility, Milgard School of Business


Open Faculty Positions

Information about current positions seeking applicants is located on the UW Academic Human Resources website. Find detailed information HERE.

UW Tacoma student art

UW Tacoma student art on display on Seattle campus

April 17, 2015

Art by students of IAS associate professor Beverly Naidus is on display through June 12 in the UW School of Social Work's first-floor gallery. The exhibit is entitled "Job Fair?" and was created as part of the "Labor, Globalization and Art" course.