PPPA Faculty Page

Main page content

Below are the faculty of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs.

To search UW Tacoma faculty publications, including those by PPPA faculty, visit the UWT Library's Digital Commons.


Dr. Katie Baird

Katie Baird, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics  

Areas of expertise:  Education policy, comparative social policy, economics of public policy

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: kebaird@uw.edu
Personal Website: http://kebaird.com/


Dr. Justin Beaudoin

Justin Beaudoin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics

Areas of expertise:  Transportation economics, urban economics, environmental economics

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: jbea@uw.edu


Dr. Elizabeth Bruch

Elizabeth Bruch, J.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of International Law and Human Rights

Areas of expertise:  Human rights, humanitarian law, international law, international organizations

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: embruch@uw.edu   


Dr. Eric Bugyis

Eric Bugyis, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Religious Studies   

Areas of expertise:  Philosophy of religion, Christian thought

Contact: ebugyis@uw.edu    


Dr. Jane Compson

Jane Compson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

Areas of expertise:  Applied ethics, Buddhist thought, contemplative practices and pedagogy

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: jcompson@uw.edu   


Dr. Rob Crawford

Rob Crawford, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Cultural Studies

Areas of expertise:  Health, human rights

Contact: crawford@uw.edu    


Dr. Michael Forman

Michael Forman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Theory  

Areas of expertise:  Political theory, human rights

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: forman@uw.edu   


Dr. Bidisha Mallik

Durga P. Gautam, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Economics

Areas of expertise: International factor movements and trade, institutions, economic development

Contact: dgautam@uw.edu    


Dr. Sarah Hampson

Sarah Hampson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Public Law   

Areas of expertise:  Public law; work and family policy; race, gender, and ethnicity in politics

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: hampsons@uw.edu   


Dr. Mary Hanneman

Mary Hanneman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of East Asian History

Areas of expertise:  Japanese history, East Asian history, comparative nationalism, national identity

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: hanneman@uw.edu   


Dr. Seyed Karimi

Seyed Karimi, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Economics 

Areas of expertise:  Health economics, labor policy, development economics

Contact: skarimi2@uw.edu    
Personal Website: https://sites.google.com/site/seyedmkarimi/home


Dr. Turan Kayaoglu

Turan Kayaoglu, Ph.D.

Professor of International Relations  

Areas of expertise:  International relations theory, human rights, American Islam and politics, interfaith relations and dialogue

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: turan@uw.edu   


Dr. Bidisha Mallik

Bidisha Mallik, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Philosophy

Contact: bmallik@uw.edu    


Dr. Will McGuire

Will McGuire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics  

Areas of expertise:  International trade, development economics, Chinese economy

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: wmcguire@uw.edu   
Personal Website: https://sites.google.com/site/williamhmcguire/


Dr. Lucas McMillan

Lucas McMillan, Ph.D.

Lecturer in American Politics

Areas of expertise:  Civil rights and liberties, U.S. Supreme Court, judicial behavior

Contact: lucasm13@uw.edu    


Dr. Benjamin Meiches

Benjamin Meiches, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Global Politics  

Areas of expertise:  Global politics, armed conflict, genocide, international law

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: bmeiches@uw.edu   


Dr. David Morris

David Morris, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of American Literature

Contact: dcmorris@uw.edu  


Dr. Amos Nascimento

Amos Nascimento, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy

Areas of expertise: Discourse theory and discourse ethics, human rights and cosmopolitanism, applied ethics, environmental philosophy

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: anascim@uw.edu   
Personal Website: https://catalyst.uw.edu/workspace/anascim/17173/98127


Dr. Etga Ugur

Etga Ugur, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Comparative Politics

Areas of expertise: Religion and politics in the Middle East, Islamic movements, religion and civil society, comparative politics

Curriculum Vitae

Contact: ugur@uw.edu


Dr. Charles Williams

Charles Williams, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Politics

Areas of expertise:  U.S. labor history and politics, alternative economic development

Contact: charles1@uw.edu  


To request changes or updates to this page, please use our Web Edit Request Form.