Community Engagement Council

Main page content

The Community Engagement Council serves as a body to coordinate and connect the various engagement activities occurring across campus. It also serves as a consultative body for issues pertaining to our public engagement agenda. It focuses on designing the campus infrastructure, policies, procedures and programs to institutionalize and enhance engagement in alignment with our urban-serving mission and in support of our strategic plan.


  • Ali Modarres, Assistant Chancellor for Community Engagement


  • Saalim Ahmed, ASUWT Outreach Director
  • Bonnie Becker, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Success
  • Patrick Clark, Director of Campus Planning & Retail Services
  • Colleen Carmean, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Innovation
  • Erica Cline, Associate Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  • Rachel Endo, Dean, School of Education
  • Amanda Figueroa, Director, Student Transitions Programs
  • Rachel Hershberg, Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences (Faculty Assembly representative)
  • Lisa Isozaki, Research Administrator, Office of Research
  • Turan Kayaoglu, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Chair, Faculty Development Council
  • Joshua Knudson, Vice Chancellor for Advancement
  • Mark Pagano, Chancellor (ex officio)
  • Paul Prociv, Center for Service & Leadership
  • Lisa Reeves, Director, Educational Outreach
  • Alina Solano, Senior Executive Assistant to the Chancellor
  • Christine Stevens, Associate Professor, Nursing & Healthcare Leadership
  • Mike Wark, Assistant Vice Chancellor for External Relations