Distinguished Community Engagement Award

Main page content

The Distinguished Community Engagement Award was created in 2013. Given annually, the award recognizes the important and innovative community-engaged and community-based work by faculty at the University of Washington Tacoma. Such work is based on an ethic of mutual benefit in which both the community partner and/or public and the university, its faculty, and/or its students benefit in ways not possible without the partnership. This work may be short or long term and may be with a single or multiple partners, and should have been active within the past three years. It may be focused on teaching and learning, research, policy, citizenship building, creative work, or community building.

2019 Recipients

Dr. Michelle Montgomery, Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Dr. Montgomery, an assistant professor in the School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences (SIAS), Social & Historical Studies Division, has built strong partnerships across multiple sectors and varied geographies. She connects research, teaching and service with a commitment to increasing collective knowledge of the histories, cultures and political struggles of indigenous populations. She creates space for dialogue and the co-production of knowledge among organizations at the local, regional and national level.

Dr. Turan Kayaoglu, Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Dr. Kayaoglu, a professor in the Politics, Phiiosophy & Public Affairs Division of SIAS and the Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, is dedicated to promoting tolerance, and building inter-cultural and inter-faith dialogue and support in and for Muslim communities. He has developed strong and positive working relationships with community groups at the local and regional levels to promote peace and tolerance in our region and beyond.

Past Recipients