UW Climate Survey: Tacoma Campus

Main page content

Thank you! From Oct. 8 through Nov. 8, 2019, members of the university community on all three campuses took the UW climate survey to help make positive, lasting changes that will create better living, learning and working environments on all campuses. Thanks to your participation, UW Tacoma achieved the highest survey partipation rates of any UW campus.

Learn More About the Climate Survey

Final survey response rates, as of Nov. 10, 2019.

UW TACOMA      33.9% n=2,058 (total pop. 6,164)

Undergraduates: 30.8%
Graduate/Professional/Post-bac: 19.7%
Faculty, professorial: 82.3%
Faculty, lecturer: 42.9%
Library: 100%
Professional staff: 79.8%
Classified staff: 60.6%

UW SEATTLE      24.8% n=13,130 (total pop. 52,973)

Undergraduates: 17.6%
Graduate/Professional/Post-bac: 21.2%
Faculty, professorial: 45.5%
Faculty, lecturer: 22.1%
Library: 54.7%
Professional staff: 65.2%
Classified staff; 37.7%

UW HEALTH SCIENCES      17.7% n=3,150 (total pop. 17,754)

Undergraduates: 25.5%
Graduate/Professional/Post-bac: 16.9%
Faculty, professorial: 19.2%
Faculty, lecturer: 8.9%
Library: NA
Professional staff: 31.9%
Classified staff: 19.3%

UW BOTHELL      17.3% n=1,156 (total pop. 6,744)

Undergraduates: 13.3%
Graduate/professional/post-bac: 8.4%
Faculty, professorial: 46.1%
Faculty, lecturer: 31.2%
Library: 100%
Professional staff: 72.2%
Classified staff: 49.2%

Survey Incentives

After completing the survey, participants were able to opt in to be eligible for incentives. The drawings to award the incentives will be administered by the UW Office of Educational Assessment. Below is a complete list of the incentives made available to the UW Tacoma community (some incentives were awarded at campus events during the open survey period). 

  • One parking permit for one quarter during 2019-20 academic year at any UW Tacoma parking lot (space available basis)
  • University Book Store gift cards worth from $100 to $500 (for students)
  • $500 in professional development funds (for faculty/staff)
  • One of three Sound Credit Union Visa gift cards ($100 value)
  • One of two sets of two tickets to Tacoma Urban League annual holiday luau ($50 value)
  • One of four Tacoma Urban League Young Professional Memberships ($50 value)
  • One-year Tacoma Children's Museum "playful membership" ($115 value)
  • Various UW apparel and gift items (value noted at time of drawing/notification)
  • Free registration for one of the following UW Tacoma Professional Development Center courses (for faculty/staff)-
    • Lean Six Sigma - White Belt
    • Lean Six Sigma - Green Belt
    • Project Management
    • Leadership Essentials