Fulbright Supports Hanneman and Dierwechter in India and Canada

Main page content

The U.S. Department of State has announced that two UW Tacoma faculty will receive Fulbright awards to support their research in India and Canada.

UW Tacoma faculty Mary Hanneman and Yonn Dierwechter have each been awarded Fulbright grants for international study.

Dierwechter, a professor in Urban Studies, was awarded a Fulbright Canada Research Chair to study the social and environmental implications of “smart cities” at the University of Calgary. He will examine the extent to which the Canadian context of laws and policies promotes the spread of “smart” growth among Canadian urbanized regions. His project is entitled “Social and Environmental Implications of Smart Cities.”

Dierwechter got an undergraduate degree in history from the University of Iowa, a master of urban and regional planning from Cornell University and a Ph.D. in geography from the London School of Economics. He is a founding faculty member of the UW Tacoma Urban Studies program, and in 2014 was the recipient of the UW Tacoma Distinguished Research Award.

Hanneman, an associate professor of history in the School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, will spend four months at the University of North Bengal in India. She will study the work of two Bengali icons of the Indian independence movement, Rabindranath Tagore and Subhas Chandra Bose. Although they both embraced a pan-Asian outlook in opposition to the British Raj, “they did so from diametrically opposed positions.” Her project is entitled “Pan-Asianism, Japanese Colonialism and the Varieties of Indian Nationalism: Rabindranath Tagore and Subhas Chandra Bose.”

Hanneman received her undergraduate degree in East Asian studies from Western Washington University, a master’s degree in the same field from Yale University, and a Ph.D. in Japanese History from UW in Seattle. She has been on the faculty at UW Tacoma since 1991, as an instructor, then senior lecturer, then assistant and associate professor. She spent five months in India in 2010 as the recipient of a Fulbright teaching award.

The Fulbright Scholar Program, part of the United States Department of State, is named for former Senator J. William Fulbright, sponsor of the legislation that created the program in 1948. Since then, more than 250,000 students, scholars and teachers have participated in international exchanges “to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.”

Written by: 
John Burkhardt / July 5, 2018
Media contact: 

John Burkhardt, UW Tacoma Communications, 253-692-4536 or johnbjr@uw.edu