Advisory Councils

Main page content

The Office of Community Partnerships has two advisory councils -  Faculty & Staff Advisory Council  and a Community Advisory Council.  Both serve as complementary bodies to coordinate and connect the various engagement activities occurring across campus and within the surrounding community. It also serves as a consultative body for issues pertaining to our public engagement agenda. It focuses on designing the campus infrastructure, policies, procedures and programs to institutionalize and enhance engagement in alignment with our urban-serving mission and in support of our strategic plan.

Faculty & Staff Advisory Council

  • Ali Modarres (Chair), Assistant Chancellor for Community Partnerships
  • Mark Pagano, Chancellor (ex officio)
  • Bonnie Becker, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Success
  • Erica Cline, Associate Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  • Rachel Endo, Dean, School of Education
  • Robin Evans-Agnew, Associate Professor, Nursing & Healthcare Leadership
  • Amanda Figueroa, Director, Student Transitions Programs
  • Jim Gawel,  Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty Support and Initiatives, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  • Lisa Isozaki, Research Administrator, Office of Research
  • Joshua Knudson, Vice Chancellor for Advancement
  • Joe Lawless, Assistant Chancellor for Strategy & Assessment
  • James McShay, Assistant Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion
  • Melony Pederson, Project Development & Construction Manager, Campus Planning & Retail
  • Christine Stevens, Associate Professor, Nursing & Healthcare Leadership
  • Matt Tolentino,  Assistant Professor and Research Associate, Center for Data Science, School of Engineering & Technology
  • Vacant, ASUWT Representative
  • Justin Wadland, Associate Director and Head, Digital Scholarship, UW Tacoma Library
  • Vacant, Assistant Vice Chancellor for External Relations
  • Ka Yee Yeung , Associate Professor, School of Engineering & Technology (Faculty Assembly representative)


Community Advisory Council

  • Brian Boyd, Executive DIrector, Forest Foundation / Seqouia Foundation
  • Jennifer Chang, Executive Director, Puyallup Watershed Initiative
  • Dr. Anthony Chen, Director of Health, Tacoma Pierce County Health Department
  • Liz Dunbar, Retired, Executive Director, Tacoma Community House
  • Henry Izumizaki, Retired, The Russell Family Foundation
  • Kathi Littmann, Executive Director, Greater Tacoma Community Foundation
  • Peter Mayer, Deputy Executive Director, Tacoma Metro Parks
  • Michael Mirra, Executive Director, Tacoma Housing Authority
  • Lyle Quasim, Black Collective and Community Leader
  • Richard Woo, Retired, The Russell Family Foundation