SET By-Laws

Main page content


In order to exercise the powers granted under Faculty Code, Section 23-43, and to advise the Dean as
required in Section 23-43B, in an orderly and expeditious manner, the faculty of the Institute of
Technology, also referred to as the School, establishes herewith, under Faculty Code, Section 23-45A,
this document to establish organization and rules of procedure for the Institute of Technology.


The purpose of the Institute of Technology is to provide training for computing and engineering
professions within the larger context of the University of Washington, whose mission is defined in
RCW, 28 B-20.020. The faculty of the Institute of Technology, University of Washington Tacoma, is the
School's governing body, under Faculty Code, Section 23-41.


Faculty members of the Institute of Technology who are voting members of the University Faculty
shall be voting members of the School faculty, as stated in Faculty Code, Section 21-32.


Institute of Technology faculty are organized by discipline into Academic Programs, as defined by
Executive Order VI. Each academic degree and certificate offered in the School is housed within a
single Academic Program. Academic Program faculty formulate policy, plan, oversee and approve
curricula and accreditation matters related to all degree and certificate programs housed within
them. Members of the Academic Programs are appointed by the Faculty Council of the Institute of
Technology (see Article IV below), in consultation with existing Academic Program faculty and on the
expressed preference of each faculty member. Each voting member of the School faculty shall serve
as a voting member in one Academic Program. Initial Academic Programs, and the initial degrees in
each are:
Computer Science
Bachelor of Science, Computer Science and Systems
Bachelor of Arts, Computer Science and Systems
Master of Science, Computer Science and Systems
Bachelor of Science, Computer Engineering and Systems
Bachelor of Science, Electrical Engineering
Information Technology
Bachelor of Science, Information Technology
Minor in Applied Computing
Master of Cybersecurity and Leadership

As new degree and certificate programs are approved, they may be added to an existing Academic
Program, or may engender the creation of a new Academic Program, as decided by a majority vote of
the School faculty.
The chairperson of each Academic Program is elected from and by voting faculty members in the
Academic Program, and shall be a member of the Academic Program at the start of their
appointment. The term for an Academic Program chair is three years, with the appointment starting
in September, limited to a maximum of two consecutive terms. Should the chair be unable to serve a
full term, a new chair shall be elected by Academic Program faculty to serve the balance of the
existing term at the earliest opportunity.


The Faculty Council shall advise the Dean on procedural matters related to faculty promotion and
tenure. The Faculty Council also shall advise the Dean on all other matters involving academic
policy, priorities, resource allocation and budgets, and shall provide oversight and support for other
Institute of Technology committees (Faculty Code, Section 23-45B). The Dean, or the Dean’s
designee, shall be an ex officio member of the Faculty Council without vote.
Voting members of Faculty Council serve a three-year term, beginning in September. There shall be
two voting members of the Faculty Council from each Academic Program, elected from and by the
voting faculty members in the Academic Program, with no option for consecutive appointments.
As the first order of business each Autumn Quarter, the Faculty Council designates a Vice Chair to
serve in the position for one year, after which the Vice Chair shall serve as the Chair. The Vice Chair
shall be a voting member of the Faculty Council with at least two years of his or her term remaining.
The Vice Chair shall not have served as Chair in the past three years and shall not be from the same
Academic Program as the Chair. The Vice Chair acts as the Chair in the event the Chair is unable to
perform their required duties. Should the Vice Chair be unable to serve a full term, a new Vice Chair
shall be elected at the earliest opportunity, in accordance with the criteria detailed above.
This paragraph and the list of initial terms that follows will automatically be deleted from these
bylaws after the first Faculty Council is elected. To avoid a full turnover every third year, initial
appointments of members to the Faculty Council shall have staggered appointments of one to three
years as follows. The voting faculty in each Academic Program determine which Faculty Council
member shall serve for which duration at the time when Faculty Council members are elected:
Computer Science (1 year and 3 years)
Engineering (2 years and 3 years)
Information Technology (1 year and 2 years)


A quorum for any meeting of the Institute of Technology faculty shall consist of at least half the
voting members physically present at the meeting, in accordance with Section 23-46 of the Faculty
Code. Voting shall occur during a meeting by show of hands, or by secret ballot if requested by any
voting faculty member at the meeting. Decision is by a simple majority of the quorum present, except
in the case of bylaw amendments, as detailed in Article VIII below. All personnel-related voting shall
be by secret ballot.


At least one meeting of the full faculty of the School must be held during each academic quarter. The
Chair of the Faculty Council shall preside. An annual calendar of meeting dates shall be established
prior to the beginning of the Autumn Quarter by the Faculty Council. Meeting dates shall not be
changed except in emergency, with information provided to the faculty regarding the cause for any
Special meetings may be held when called by the Faculty Council, requested by the Dean, or
requested in writing by ten percent (10%) of the voting membership of the School faculty to the Chair
of the Faculty Council.
The agenda shall be jointly developed by the Dean and the Faculty Council and shall include relevant
contributions received from individual faculty members, Academic Programs, internal committees
and task forces. Agenda items must be submitted in writing to the chairperson of the Faculty Council
one week prior to each full faculty meeting. A copy of the agenda shall be distributed to all faculty at
least three business days prior to each meeting.


The rules contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern the
Institute of Technology Faculty in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not
inconsistent with these bylaws and the Faculty Code.


These bylaws may be amended at any regularly scheduled faculty meeting where a quorum is
established, by two-thirds vote of those physically present, provided notice of intent is given at the
prior regular faculty meeting or when draft changes are submitted in writing to all faculty at least two
weeks (14 days) prior to the meeting at which such action is taken.

Approved by the faculty of the Institute of Technology 21 April 2017