SIAS faculty members selected as 2016 COIL Fellows

Main page content

The School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences (SIAS) is proud to announce that three of the ten UW Collaborative Online International Learning (COIL) Fellows for 2016 are SIAS faculty members.

Associate Professor Erica Cline and Assistant Professor Peter Selkin of the Science and Mathematics (SAM) division of SIAS were selected: from the SIAS division of Culture, Arts and Communication (CAC) Assistant Professor Vanessa de Veritch Woodside was also chosen as a 2016 Fellow.

These three SIAS faculty members join 2015 COIL Fellows Associate Professor Chris Demaske (CAC) and Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs (PPPA) Associate Professor Amos Nascimento, in creating opportunities for UW Tacoma students to experience international exchanges via technology.

COIL fellow are selected from across the three UW campuses.

Too few UW Tacoma students can avail themselves of the opportunity to travel abroad. COIL Fellows work to create new ways of overcoming obstacles of finances, borders, time and time zones.

Learn more about the UW COIL Initiative. Read about the COIL approach to fostering global competence at

Written by: 
Meridith Hatch / December 8, 2015