Distinguished Service Award

Main page content


Each year, in partnership with the Chancellor's Office, the Staff Association recognizes two staff members for their outstanding contributions to the campus with the UW Tacoma Distinguished Service Award. Each recipient receives a $1,000 professional development scholarship. In addition to a surprise announcement with their unit, the awards are presented as part of the annual campus-wide Spring Celebration.

Nomination Process

Any UW Tacoma staff, faculty or student can nominate. Each nominator may only nominate one person per year. Nominations are open now and are accepted via the nomination link below. Nominations are closed for 2019-2020.


Who Is Eligible

All UW Tacoma staff including permanent, professional, classified, librarian, full-time, and part-time, are eligible for the award. Temporary staff, student employees, including work-study students, are not eligible for the award. Additionally, previous award recipients and anyone who serves on the award selection committee is ineligible to receive the award.

Nomination Criteria

Nominations are judged based on the following:

  • Excellence in job performance
  • Substantially exceeded in quality or quantity the performance expected for the position or assignment
  • Inspirational service to the UW Tacoma community
  • Significant contribution to the UW Tacoma mission
  • Exceptional contribution to the off-campus community, which may bring credit to UW Tacoma
  • Original and innovative resolution of a critical issue
The award is not restricted to only the current year of service. The award is designed to recognize outstanding staff members and their work - which may cross over multiple years. The nomination may be for a single year or project that a staff member worked on, or for many years of service.

Award Recipients

Year Recipient Department/Unit*
2020 Michelle Miller School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  Susan Wagshul-Golden Campus Safety & Security
2019 Ana Marie Alameda Office of the Registrar
  Danelle Pettersen Human Resources
2018 Josh Carper Media Services
  Jeff Fitzgerald Teaching & Learning Center
2017 Donna Braboy School of Education
  Andrea Coker-Anderson Registrar
2016 Anna Salyer Library
  Trish Zander Milgard School of Business
2015 Amanda (Bruner) Figueroa Student Transition Programs
  Sergio Carrillo Facilities Services
2014 Jo Enscoe Diversity Resource Center
  Darcy Janzen Academic Technologies
2013 Jessica Asplund Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  Anna Mertz Student Affairs
2012 Linda Spence-Noyer Enrollment Services
  Angela Zurcher Administrative Services
2011 Tim Bostelle Library
  Beth Jeffrey Institute of Technology
2010 Jennifer Burley Administrative Services
  Laura Delval Campus Safety & Security
2009 Bridget Mason Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  Keiji Oka Computer Services
2008 Naarah McDonald Milgard School of Business
  Lia Wetzstein Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
2007 Karin Dalesky Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  Carolyn Maxson Teaching & Learning Center
2006 Bob Hardie Student Affairs
  Laurie McKay Nursing
2005 Kim Davenport Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  Jessica Roshan Institute of Technology
2004 Tony Myers Enrollment Services
  Cathy Thompson Enrollment Services
2003 Lisa Rankin Enrollment Services
  Julia Smith Urban Studies
2002 Nan West Nursing
  Robert Whitfield Campus Safety & Security
2001 Brian Anderson Public Relations & Communications
  Bronwyn Pughe Teaching & Learning Center
2000 Wanda Curtis Enrollment Services
  Joe Kapler Media Services
1999 Beckie Etheridge Media Services
  Karen Reed Development
1998 Sara Contreras Education
  Suzanne Klinger Library
1997 Linda Gilbert Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  Dannah Madden Nursing

*Department or unit the person was working for at the time they received the award.