About Us

Main page content

The mission of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Sustainability is to create and promote a sustainable university community through:

  • Management of our resources by facilitating research, learning opportunities, policies, and practices that address environmental, cultural, economic, and social responsibility;
  • Promotion of a culture of sustainability in which environmental, cultural, social, economic, and academic issues are inseparably interlinked and which supports the environment of the Puget Sound Region;
  • Development of intellectual and fiscal resources that can be used to achieve sustainability for this and future generations.

To contact the committee: uwtsustain@uw.edu 



  • Jim Gawel Committee Chair-Associate Professor, SIAS
  • Sarah McDaniel Committee Vice Chair-Student, Sustainable Urban Development & Politics, Philosophy, Economics
  • Hannah Coache, Secretary, Fiscal Specialist II SIAS


  • Daniel Hernandez, Institue of Technology
  • Emma Jones, Pre-major
  • Ashley Richards, Sustainable Urban Development 

Faculty & Staff

  • Stanley Joshua, Director, Facilities Services
  • Joe Lawless, Assistant Chancellor for Strategy & Assessment 
  • Ellen Moore, Lecturer, Interdisicplinary Arts & Sciences
  • Ryan Moriarty, Multimedia Content Specialist, Advancement 
  • Surtida Shelton, Associate Director, Student Engagement
  • James Sinding, Auxiliary Services Manager, Finance
  • Elizabeth Hyun, Project Manager
  • Dayna Childs, Academic Advisor
  • Sean Schmidt, UW Seattle Sustainability Specialist