The Paulsen Committee

Main page content


The purpose of this committee is to advise the Chancellor on the selection of annual speakers for the Arthur R. and Anna Mae Paulsen Endowed Lectureship in Public Affairs, as well as ensure that the speaker contributes to an intellectually vibrant campus, and engages with students. The work of the committee should support the preparation of a list of potential visiting speakers that is responsive to community interest. The committee will also advise the Chancellor on all matters related to the administration of the lecture series. It will also work with the Vice Chancellor of Advancement in various matters related to same, the selection of speakers, and their visit to campus.

Paulsen Committee Procedures: WORD | PDF


  • Three members from the faculty, selected at large (three-year term); ideally, faculty appointments will be staggered in order to ensure continuity on the committee
  • One member representing the Paulsen family (permanent)
  • The Vice Chancellor for Advancement appointee (permanent)
  • One member from the community (rotated, at the discretion of the chancellor)
  • One member from the Associated Students of University of Washington Tacoma (one-year term)

Past Speakers

  • 2017 – Black Lives Matter: A Conversation featuring Patrisse Cullors and Jamelle Bouie, hosted at the Pantages Theater on Wednesday, May 3, 2017 -
  • 2013 – Hanna Rosin, senior editor at The Atlantic, editor and founder of Slate’s women’s section DoubleX, and author of a new book, The End of Men and the Rise of Women.
  • 2011 – Seymour Hersch, investigative journalist, best known for exposing the cover-up of the My Lai Massacre in Vietnam in 1969. More recently, the controversial journalist wrote about the Abu Ghraib prison scandal in a series of articles in The New Yorker.
  • 2009 -- James Carville, a leading political consultant and author who helped guide Bill Clinton to presidential victory in 1992

Archived Reports & Minutes