History of the office

Main page content

The Office of the Chancellor has evolved over time as the UW Tacoma campus has grown and developed. These are the leaders who have guided UW Tacoma from its earliest days to the present.

Academic Program Directors and Deans: 1990 to present

Founding faculty by program​

Mark Pagano Kenyon Chan Debra Friedman

Mark A. Pagano
2015 - present
Chancellor of UW Tacoma

Kenyon S. Chan
2014 - 2015
Interim Chancellor of UW Tacoma

Debra Friedman
2011 - 2014
Chancellor of UW Tacoma
Patricia Spakes Steven Olswang Vicky Carwein

Patricia Spakes
2005 - 2011
Chancellor of UW Tacoma

Steven G. Olswang
2004 - 2005
Interim Chancellor of UW Tacoma

Vicky L. Carwein
1995 - 2004
Chancellor and Dean of UW Tacoma

William Richardson John Keating Donna Kerr

William Richardson
1994 - 1995
Acting Dean of UW Tacoma

John P. Keating
Dean of the UW Branch Campuses and Vice Provost

Donna H. Kerr
Director of Branch Campus Planning and Dean of the UW Branch Campuses